Hair Health

Beautiful Woman With Straight Long Hair Over WhiteWe all want beautiful, healthy hair! Some want long hair while others just want their hair to be thicker. I have some great ideas for all desires and needs to keep our hair healthy, shiny, and glorious!

Personally, I have hypothyroidism, which means I battle hair loss regularly and will for the rest of my life. I am always looking for different holistic methods that will aid in thick, healthy hair while combating hair loss. I hope my compilation below of different methods I have found to give me healthy hair will help you also!

Essential Oils

There are many essential oils (EOs) that will help keep your hair healthy. Essential oils are excellent for cleansing, nourishing, and strengthening the hair follicle and shaft. (I just said shaft haha)

  1. Ylang Ylang: promotes thick, shiny, and lustrous hair, while also fighting against hair loss.
  1. Rosemary: hair loss
  1. Lavender: hair loss, eczema, psoriasis, dandruff, dry skin/scalp
  1. Cedarwood: hair loss, dry scalp, eczema, psoriasis, dandruff
  1. Peppermint: oily scalp, eczema, psoriasis, dandruff

Application:

Dilute 2-4 drops of chosen EO with coconut oil or castor oil and rub into scalp and hair. If you’d like to make it even better, apply to dry hair and then wrap a warm towel around it. Keep on for 30 minutes to an hour, and then wash out in the shower or bath. That isn’t necessary, but is still a great deep-conditioning treatment for dry locks.

TIP: When you are done showering, turn your water to a bit cooler, but not goosebumps-cold. When your skin is under the warm water, your pores open up. When you turn it cooler, the cold closes the pores again, and this includes your hair… rinsing it with cool water right before getting out will close in the wonderful oils you just conditioned with!

Learn more great ways to use essential oils here!

Natural Shampoo

The products we normally use are killing our hair! It strips it of any natural oils our scalp naturally produces as well as the beneficial nutrients in that oil. I still use commercial hair care products, but I’m slowly trying to venture to more natural solutions. I’ve found a few ideas in my search:

Ingredients:

Mix ingredients together. Apply to wet hair and rinse out.

1-Ingredient Natural Conditioner

You may think I have tricked you on this one, but it’s not a joke! I constantly talk about the amazing (and many) benefits of coconut oil, and this is another instance where coconut oil gets a gold star! Just take a small amount (a little will go a long way) and start at your ends and work your way up. That way, your scalp is not super oily, which can happen with coconut oil, and is why I am still searching for the best conditioner that’s also natural. However, this is a great conditioner if it works for your hair and doesn’t make it too oily. You can also add in other ingredients for your needs, such as castor oil to promote growth and essential oils, explained in detail above.

If I take a detox bath that has coconut oil in it in some way, I usually won’t even use conditioner because the water has already added it to my hair.

1-Ingredient Hair Rinse

Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) is another one of my favorite ingredients for skin and hair health. I use it in my detox baths frequently. Make sure to use all-natural ACV with “mother”… that’s the magic right there. Mix about ½ cup ACV with ½ cup cool water and rinse hair with mixture. Rinse lightly with cool water again. ACV makes hair healthy and shiny.

Biotin Supplement

I take a biotin supplement (as often as I remember) to help aid in the growth of my hair as well as the health of my skin and nails.

References:

“Essential Oils Pocket Reference” by Life Science Publishing

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Castor Oil | ArtfulExistence
  2. Trackback: Skin Health | ArtfulExistence
  3. Trackback: Sleep: Insomnia, Nightmares | ArtfulExistence
  4. Trackback: How to Use Essential Oils | ArtfulExistence
  5. Trackback: 20+ Ways to Live a Healthier Life | ArtfulExistence

Leave a Reply

